Game of Thrones

A Game of Thrones is set in Westeros, a low-magic fantasy kingdom where the only game worth playing is the one which seats you in the Iron Throne as the ruler of the seven kingdoms.

Known, more than anything, for the killings of its characters, nobody is safe in Game of Thrones. Politics, intrigue, sex and twisted family relationships surround the rise and fall of the different political families: the Targaryen, Lannisters, Baratheons and Starks are just the beginning of the complex plots that make this show a fan favorite.

Based on the Song of Fire and Ice novels by George R. R. Martin, A Game of Thrones runs in the late spring through early summer on HBO.  There are 5 seasons, with each season containing 10 1-hour episodes. Subscribe to HBO through your cable company or through the HBO Now app to get access to all 5 seasons on demand.

Notable Characters in the Series:

  • Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister
  • Lena Headey as Cersei Lennister
  • Natalie Dormer as Margery Tyrell
  • Emelia Clarke as Daenerys Targaryen
  • Kit Harington as Jon Snow

Famous Phrases and Events:

  • “Winter is Coming” – the family motto of the Starks.
  • The Red Wedding – a wedding between families which turned out to be a trap which slaughtered most of the Stark family.
  • The Purple Wedding – the wedding of Joffrey Baratheon, where he was poisoned and turned purple from choking.
  • “You know nothing, Jon Snow” – famously quoted by Ygritte, Jon Snow’s wildling lover. Turned into an internet meme.