These Artwork of Magic the Gathering Books Showcase The Best of Recent Expansions

The artwork in Magic: the Gathering is constantly evolving. Magic has always been a game with outstanding rules and gameplay, with a great blend of strategy and tactics. But if you compare the artwork that came from the early sets with the artwork that is being commissioned now, it’s worlds different.

Taking the artwork to this level is really amazing. I’m a long time player, but one that has only just returned after a long break. I’m actually blown away by the art in the recent sets. And as a fan of this new art, I’m really happy to see that I can get these books that showcase the fantastic art of Magic the Gathering. Each explores the artwork of a Magic expansion block, not just the first expansion in the expansion block.

Take some time to drool over the beautiful artwork in these books, and do yourself, your coffee table and your bookshelf a favor and add one or more of these books to your collection.

The Art of Magic: The Gathering – Zendikar

The Zendikar expansion block covered Zendikar, Worldwake, and Rise of the Eldrazi. The Zendikar block was released in between Fall 2009 and Spring 2010.  Zendikar brought in some great mechanics, including Ally and Landfall

The Art of Magic: The Gathering – Innistrad

Innistrad is an expansion block with a setting and theme of gothic horror. It ran from Fall 2011 through Spring 2012 and included the expansions Innistrad, Dark Ascension, and Avacyn Restored. It included mechanics and keywords that played well in this theme, including Curse, Morbid, and Undying.

The Art of Magic: The Gathering – Kaladesh

The block of Kaladesh includes the namesake, Kaladesh, and Aether Revolt. Kaladesh is an alternate plane, and is the original plane of existence for Chandra Nalaar, the firey and explosive red planeswalker. The set prominently features artifacts and artificers and “aether”, which powers those artifacts.

The Art of Magic: The Gathering – Amonkhet

I’m completely enamored with Amonkhet. The artwork, especially, but also the theme and setting of the expansion block. The Amonkhet block includes the expansions Amonkhet and Hour of Devastation. It is set in a gleaming and elaborate city with an Egyptian motif. Mummies, zombies, sphinx and pyramids are the backdrop for the Old Gods.

The Art of Magic: The Gathering – Ixalan

As of this writing, the Amonkhet block is still going strong and Ixalan is just something off in the distance. But the artwork for this expansion block will be showcased in a book that is to be released on January 2, 2018. Preorders are available now, but get some of the books that are already released first so you have something to read while you wait!